top of page
  • Writer's picture47sheep

Rock Candy Scarf

Updated: Feb 11, 2018

I made this specifically for a birthday present (and now that the recipient has it, I can finally share it here). As I was casting off, the name came to me: it looks kind of like rock candy. Unfortunately, I did not keep the label that went around the skein so I don't know the brand, yarn type, etc. (Just that I bought it at Joann Fabric). Thanks to ealizabethan (see comment below) for telling me the yarn! I found something similar on Joann's website: Buttercream™ Luxe Craft Rainbow Boucle Yarn Pink.


There are two unique things about this pattern. First, I knit it vertically for vertical stripes (250 stitches per row). Second, I used both ends of the skein of yarn simultaneously for a very cool color-changing effect. Because I wanted this scarf to be warm and cozy, in addition to the double yarn, I used a smaller size needle. This made for a tight knit. I like the end result, but broke a needle in the process so I guess I went a little too small. The pattern is easy enough. Knit three rows, purl one row. While not identical from both sides, both sides do look good, important for a scarf.

Thank you allfreeknitting.com for including this pattern on your website.

1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page