top of page
  • Writer's picture47sheep

Ocean Sunrise triangle/square

This is actually the same pattern as my sunny meadow blanket. It did this one first with the intent of making a blanket. Then I realized I wouldn't have enough yarn for the size I wanted. Besides, I needed a birthday present for someone and decided this would make a beautiful shawl (or shawlette). So I just kept knitting it into a modified triangle--adding a stitch to both sides on some rows to make it get wider and then doing short rows (knitting a pattern on one side and then the other without knitting at the neck. This way it drapes better to stay on. I didn't keep track tow by row of that part, but here is the basic pattern for making a triangle and the way I changed between two different yarns.


I used Red Heart soft baby steps in blue earth print combine with a yellow yarn I had leftover from something. The yarn says it’s size 4, but I’d say it’s kind thin for a worsted weight, but maybe not as thin as your typical DK. I used size 5.0 mm (US 8) on circular needles to accommodate the size (knitting from the corner means you have the diagonal on your needles—that’s the longest part. I tend to knit loosely (not by choice but that’s just how things come out).


Color A (blue earth print)

Color B (yellow)

Start with color A

Cast on one stitch.

Row 1: KFB (2 stitches)

Row 2: SL1, KFB (3 st)

Row 3: SL1 KFB Ktb (knit to the back) (4 st)

Row 4: SL1 KFB K1 Ktb (5 st)

Row 5: SL1 KFB K1 P1 Ktb (6 st)

Row 6: SL1 KFB K1 P1 K1 Ktb (7)

Row 7: SL1 KFB *seed* to last stitch; Ktb

Rows 8-19: continue row 7

Then continue same pattern, switching colors as follows.

2 rows color B

4 rows color A

2 rows color B

2 rows color A

2 rows color B

4 rows color A

2 rows color B

2 rows color A

2 rows color B

6 rows color A

Repeat this pattern until desired size. Be sure to carry unused color up the side as you go.






0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page