top of page
  • Writer's picture47sheep

Breeze Blanket

I've been working on this afghan for a long time. Finally finished! It's a house-warming gift for someone whose house I've been told has a CapeCod/Beach theme maybe. This yarn (called country basket) made me think of the ocean. So I combine it with blue water and white crashing waves.



It's a stockinette blanket--but I was concerned that if that's all I did, it would curl up too much. So I added a cable2 (easy to do without a cable needle; just skip one stitch (leaving it on the working needle), knit the next stitch from the back and then knit the one you skipped, also from the back). So the pattern is K18 p1 cable2 cable 2 p1. With a slip stitch and 2 cable2 p1 for the starting edge and p1 2 cable2 the ktb for the ending edge. This forms a border that does curl so If I did it again, I think I'd just seed stitch or garter stitch the last 4-5 stitches on each side. The purl side is a little different. When I get around to writing out the entire pattern, I will add it to the post.




1 comment

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page