top of page
  • Writer's picture47sheep

Whisked Froth

Here's an idea if you have a hand-held electric whisk (possibly called a wand). Or just you an actual whisk and do it by hand. This is a way to whip up your milk like froth or steamed milk if you don't have a frother.



Put milk (2% works best. If using whole milk, add a little water) in your microwave safe coffee mug. (This is the mug you plan to drink your coffee from--if possible). I put the whisk attachment on and set for high then whisk for at least 30 seconds. You will know it's done when the milk reaches its maximum height and stops getting higher. I whisk a little longer just to be sure. I've experimented with whisking longer than a minute and it doesn't seem to make a difference.


Now, let it sit for 30-60 seconds. This is something new I tried after reading about some actual frothers. It works better if you do this.


Place the mug in the microwave for 35 seconds. Well, for my microwave that is what works. It really depends on your mug, the amount of milk, and your microwave oven.


Let is rest again for 30-60 seconds.


By now, hopefully, your coffee is ready. I pour it so that coffee goes on all of the foamy milk. This pops some more of the bubbles so you have room for your cup of coffee. It might not be as rich and creamy as a $100+ electric frother, but since I already had the electric whisk, it works. And I recommend using your coffee mug. This saves on losing some of the froth when pouring into a different container (as well as saving on clean up).



0 comments
bottom of page